Fairview Physician Associates (FPA) Board

The Fairview Physician Associates (FPA) Board meets five times each year and includes independent and Fairview-employed physicians as well as representatives from the community. See the FPA committee organization structure and the 2014 Sixth restated bylaws. Board members include:

Patricia Babler, Cargill
   Benefits Manager, Cargill, Inc. She is responsible for benefits strategy, the HR direct call center and work life initiatives.

John Bjorklund, Chair, MD, Fairview Clinics - Bloomington Lake
   Board certified in pediatrics. He also serves on the Product Development and Contracting Committee at FPA and is involved in numerous professional organizations, including the American Academy of Family Physicians.

Lou Carbone, Experience Engineering, Inc.
  Chief experience officer (CEO) and founder of Experience Engineering, Inc., which serves a variety of companies, making them stronger and less vulnerable by optimizing the value created by experiences customers and employees have.

Bryan Dowd, PhD, University of Minnesota
   Professor and director of graduates studies in the Division of Health Services Research and Policy at the University of Minnesota.

Levi Downs, MD, University of Minnesota
   Board certified gynecologic oncologist.
   Chief medical officer for University of Minnesota Physicians.

Elizabeth Eckhardt, MD, Fairview Clinics-Riverside
Board certified in obstetrics and gynecology. Provides care at Fairview Clinics- Riverside

Barbara Klick, Fairview Physician Associates 
  Chief operating officer, joined FPA in 2007. Her training as an RN and MBA has allowed her to work in critical care nursing and administrative positions in ambulatory care operations, emergency medicine education and marketing.

David Knutson, University of Minnesota
  Senior research fellow in the Division of Health Policy and Management at the University of Minnesota

Samuel Leon, MD, Minnesota Gastroenterology, P.A.
   Board certified gastroenterologist at Minnesota Gastroenterology.

Carol Lucio, Richfield Medical Group
   Clinic administrator at Richfield Medical Group.

Dennis Maetzold, Treasurer, Retired Banker
   Retired banker, who worked simultaneously as a reserve intelligence officer. He was active in local organizations serving on various boards. In retirement, Mr. Maetzold serves on the boards of Veap, the Edina Foundation and others.

David Martin, Ahmann-Martin Agency
  Founder and President of the David Martin Agency, one of the largest benefit firms in Minnesota, and is the local partner of the Benefit Advisors Network (BAN), a national association of independent benefit firms.

David Murphy, Fairview Health Services
   Interim president and chief executive officer of Fairview Health Services.

David Nelson, MD, (Chair), France Avenue Family Physicians
   Board certified family physician at France Avenue Family Physicians.

William Nersesian, MD, Fairview Physician Associates 
   Chief medical officer, joined FPA in 2003.  Retired as a pediatrician in 2010.

Vicki Oster, MD, Southdale Pediatric Associates
   Board certified Pediatric physician providing patient care at Southdale Pediatric Associates.

William Riley, PhD, Arizona State University
   Professor and Director, School for the Science of Health Care Delivery, Arizona State University.

Frederick "Fritz" Wenzel, University of St. Thomas
   Professor and academic director of the MBA program in medical group management at the College of Business, University of St. Thomas.

For more information about FPA's Board, contact Judy Haataja,, 952-914-1849. 

© 2015 Fairview Health Services. All rights reserved.